Version 1 (modified by nicolasmartin, 3 years ago) (diff)

2014 Users Meeting

Agenda

  1. Agenda
    1. Monday 7 July
      1. 8:50 - 9:00 Introduction - Welcome by Pierre Brasseur
      2. 9:00 - 11h00 Session on Simplification and Robustness & NEMO development perspectives (Chairman : Julien Le Sommer)
      3. 11:00 - 11:30 Coffee break & posters
      4. 11:30 - 12:30 Session on Ocean surface processes at small scales and sensitivity to vertical physics (Chairman : Tim Graham)
      5. 12:30 - 13:30 Lunch & posters
      6. 13:30 - 15:00 Session on Ocean surface processes at small scales and sensitivity to vertical physics (cont')
      7. 15:00 - 15:30 Session on AGRIF and limited area configurations (Chairman : Laurent Debreu)
      8. 15:30 - 16:00 Coffee break & posters
      9. 16:00 - 17:00 Session on AGRIF and limited area configurations (cont)
      10. 17:00 - 18:00 AGRIF hands on session
    2. Tuesday 8 July
      1. 9:00 - 10:30 Session on Model and observations, TAM, ensemble runs…(<b>Chairman : Arthur Vidard)
      2. 10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break & posters
      3. 11:00 - 11:45 Session on Model and observations, TAM, ensemble runs (cont')
      4. 12:00 - 13:00 Lunch & posters
      5. 13:00 - 15:00 Session on ESMs and coupling (Chairman Juliette Mignot)
  2. Posters
  3. Participants

Monday 7 July

8:30 - 8:50 Registration - welcome coffee

8:50 - 9:00 Introduction - Welcome by Pierre Brasseur

9:00 - 11h00 Session on Simplification and Robustness & NEMO development perspectives (Chairman : Julien Le Sommer)

  • The 2014 White paper: what is in it? what is it for? J. Le Sommer, NEMO System Team NEMO Consortium
  • The nemo_v3.6 coming release and Toward a simpler and more robust NEMO G. Madec NEMO Consortium
  • What's new in NEMO's use and development for the Consortium's institutions? The 6 NEMO officers: D. Iovino (CMCC), C. Rousset on behalf of C. Ethé (CNRS), P. Oddo (INGV), C. Bricaud (Mercator Océan), T. Graham (Met Office), S. Muller on behalf of A. Coward (NOC)
  • Advances on NEMO optimisation I.Epicoco, S.Mocavero, F.Macchia, G.Aloisio CMCC & Univ. of Salento, Italy
  • NEMO on GPU-based heterogeneous architectures: a case study using OpenACC Jeremy Appleyard, Maxim Milakov, Stan Posey, Thomas Bradley
  • Recent advances in the sea-ice model LIM3 in the future NEMO 3.6: towards robustness and conservation of properties. C. Rousset, M. Vancoppenolle, S. Flavoni, G. Madec, S. Masson

11:00 - 11:30 Coffee break & posters

11:30 - 12:30 Session on Ocean surface processes at small scales and sensitivity to vertical physics (Chairman : Tim Graham)

  • Coupling NEMO with surface waves: ongoing work within the NEMO wave coupling working group <b>Paolo Oddo</b>, INGV
  • Adding ocean-wave effects to the EC-Earth global climate model <b>Hylke de Vries,</b> Andreas Sterl, Wilco Hazeleger KNMI
  • Coupled wave-ocean modelling system in the Mediterranean Sea <b>Emanuela Clementi</b>, P.Oddo, M.Adani, G.Korres, M.Drudi, N.Pinardi, INGV
  • Vertical coordinates update in NEMO 3.6: Sanity tests and potential for numerical mixing reduction. <b>J. Chanut,</b> M. R. Petersen and C. Bricaud Mercator
  • Caveats in using NEMO's energy and enstrophy conserving scheme : illustration with idealized experiments and sensitivity of ORCA025 simulations. <b>Ducousso,</b>Le Sommer, Molines, Madec, Debreu, Lemarié, Tréguier MEOM team, LGGE, Grenoble, France
  • Quantification of exchanges between the open Black Sea and its North West shelf using NEMO-SHELF-BLS <b>G.I.Shapiro</b>, F.Wobus, F.Zhou Plymouth University UK
  • Analysis of near-surface vertical mixing biases in forced and coupled ORCA025 integrations <b>D.Storkey,</b> D. Calvert, A. Megann, B. Sinha
  • Resolution-dependence of the representation of surface flux characteristics in a series of ocean-only and coupled NEMO simulations. <b>Pat Hyder</b> (Met Office), John Siddorn (Met Office), Andrew Coward (NOC), Joel Hirschi (NOC), David Munday (Oxford University), and Chun-lei Liu (Reading University)
  • Dissipation of the energy imparted by high frequency winds in the Southern Ocean : sensitivity to numerical choices <b>J. Jouanno</b>, X. Capet

12:30 - 13:30 Lunch & posters

13:30 - 15:00 Session on Ocean surface processes at small scales and sensitivity to vertical physics (cont')

15:00 - 15:30 Session on AGRIF and limited area configurations (Chairman : Laurent Debreu)

  • Ongoing work within the NEMO-AGRIF working group <b>Laurent Debreu</b>, LJK</li>
  • High resolution modeling in the the North-Western Mediterranean Sea: a downscaling experiment <b>Y. Ourmieres</b>, A. Declerck, A. Molcard, K. Guihou, B. Zakardjian MIO, France</li>
  • A high-resolution baroclinic ocean circulation model of coastal waters southwest of Nova Scotia <b>Fateme Chegini,</b> Youyu Lu, Hal Ritchie, Keith Thompson</li>
  • Arctic Ocean modelling at the Finnish Meteorological Institute using NEMO-LIM3 <b>Petteri Uotila</b>, Jari Haapala, Byoung Woong An and Mikko Lensu</li>
  • Influence of sea level increase on Baltic Sea salt water inflows <b>R. Hordoir</b></li>

15:30 - 16:00 Coffee break & posters

16:00 - 17:00 Session on AGRIF and limited area configurations (cont)

17:00 - 18:00 AGRIF hands on session

18h: Leaving for diner on top of the hills

Tuesday 8 July

9:00 - 10:30 Session on Model and observations, TAM, ensemble runs…(<b>Chairman : Arthur Vidard)

  • Assimilation tools in NEMO: what is available, what are the perspectives? <b>P.A.Bouttier</b> CNRS
  • Comparing global biogeochemical reanalyses assimilating CCI and Glob Colour? ocean colour products <b>David Ford</b> Met Office
  • An ensemble data assimilation using stochastic modelling of the wind forcing in a NEMO coastal configuration of the Bay of Biscay. <b>V. Vervatis</b>, C.-E. Testut, P. De Mey, N. Ayoub, J. Chanut, C. Bricaud LEGOS/CNRS & Mercator-Ocean, Toulouse, France
  • Understanding recent changes in Antarctic sea ice with NEMO <b>Joakim Kjellsson</b>, Paul R. Holland, Pierre D.M.J. Mathiot, Andrew C. Coward British Antarctic Survey, UK
  • Setting up an analysis system for diurnal SST using NEMO and NEMOVAR <b>James While</b>, Jonah Roberts-Jones, Peter Sykes, Mathew Martin, Alison Mc Laren?
  • Ensemble assimilation of JASON and ENVISAT altimetric observations with stochastic parameterization of model dynamical uncertainties Guillem Candille, <b>Jean-Michel Brankart</b>, and Pierre Brasseur
  • Ongoing work about OCCIPUT project (to be confirmed) Penduff / Sérazin / Molines / Brankar / Barnier / <b>Bessières</b> / Moine / Valcke / Terray
  • Impacts of physical data assimilation on the global ocean carbonate system <b>Luca Visinelli, </b>S. Masina, M. Vichi, A. Storto -<b> </b>CMCC, Italy
  • Ocean deep convection in the Mediterranean sea: 2012-2013 case study in the Gulf of Lions, from observations to modelling <b>Robin Waldman,</b> Samuel Somot, Marine Herrmann, Florence Sevault, Guy Caniaux, Pierre Testor

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break & posters

11:00 - 11:45 Session on Model and observations, TAM, ensemble runs (cont')

12:00 - 13:00 Lunch & posters

13:00 - 15:00 Session on ESMs and coupling (Chairman Juliette Mignot)

  • New ocean-atmosphere regional coupled system COSMO-CLM/NEMO-MED12 over the Mediterranean Sea <b>E. Brisson</b>, Naveed Akhtar 1, 2, Jennifer Brauch 3, Bodo Ahrens 1, 2<br />

 1 Institute for Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences, Goethe University Frankfurt, Frankfurt am Main, Germany<br />  2 Biodiversity and Climate Research Center, Frankfurt am Main, Germany<br />3 German Weather Service, Offenbach am Main, Germany Goethe university, Germany

  • Impact of improved overflow water masses on the North Atlantic ocean circulation <b>Tim Graham</b>, Met-Office
  • A physical/biogeochemical coupled configuration for the Indonesian archipelago <b>E. Gutknecht</b>, G. Reffray, B. Tranchant Mercator
  • On the evolution of the ocean component of the IPSL climate model from CMIP3 to CMIP5 <b>Juliette Mignot,</b>Didier Swingedouw, Julie Deshayes, Olivier Marti, Claude Talandier, Roland Séférian, Matthieu Lengaigne, and Gurvan Madec IPSL/LOCEAN, France
  • Application of NEMO in Canadian Earth System Model at CCCma <b>Duo Yang</b> Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma)
  • Ocean modelling in EC-Earth<br /><b>Laurent Brodeau</b>, EC-Earth Ocean Working Group (Long and yet undefined list)
  • The GloSea5 Ocean and Sea Ice Analysis:  An 0.25 degree re-analysis for 1993 to 2012 <b>K. Andrew Peterson</b>, Matthew Martin, Jennifer Waters, Dan Lea and Ed Blockley
  • Future of the Louvain-la-Neuve Ice Model: some examples of application. <b>F. Massonnet</b>, A. Barthélemy, S. Bouillon, T. Fichefet, H. Goosse, O. Lecomte, S. Moreau, A. Pestiaux, J. Raulier, R. Stevens, M. Vancoppenolle, G. Vergé-Dépré

Posters

  • Development of Wetting and Drying Capability for NEMO<br /><b>Hedong Liu,</b> National Oceanography Centre, UK
  • Computing Linear Optimal Perturbations Using NEMOTAM V3.4<br /><b>S. Müller,</b> F. Sévellec</li>
  • NEMO : the platform, the System Team and the Consortium<br /><b>NEMO System Team</b></li>
  • Comparing FMI Baltic Sea NEMO results to profiles from Argo floats<br /><b>A. Westerlund</b></li>
  • First long-term large-scale estimates of primary production in Baltic sea ice<br /><b>Letizia Tedesco</b> Finnish Environment Institute</li>
  • Performances of a variational DA system for an idealized turbulent NEMO configuration called SEABASS<br /><b>P.-A. Bouttier</b>, OSUG/LGGE and the NEMO System Team</li>
  • Physical and biogeochemical state of the Mediterranean Sea: current and future scenarios from the MedSeA project experiments<br /><b>Lovato T. et al.</b> CMCC</li>

Participants

Family Name First name Institution Email 7 July 8 July
AKUETEVI Cataria Quam Cyrille LMD, France cyrille.akuetevi@lmd.polytechnique.fr Y Y
Appleyard Jeremy NVIDIA jappleyard@nvidia.com Y Y
Bessières Laurent CERFACS, France bessieres@cerfacs.fr Y Y
Blaizot Anne-Cécile LOCEAN, France acblod@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr Y Y
 Blayo  Eric  University of Grenoble, France  Eric.Blayo@imag.fr  Y  Y
Brasseur Pierre CNRS pierre.brasseur@legi.grenoble-inp.fr Y Y
 Bouttier  Pierre-Antoine  MEOM, CNRS, France  Pierre-Antoine.Bouttier@imag.fr  Y  Y
BRANKART Jean-Michel LGGE, France jean-michel.brankart@legi.grenoble-inp.fr Y Y
Bricaud Clement Mercator, France cbricaud@mercator-ocean.fr Y Y
 Brisson  Erwan  Goethe university, Germany  brisson@iau.uni-frankfurt.de Y  Y
Brodeau Laurent Stockholm University, Sweden laurent@misu.su.se Y Y
 Brunetti  Maura  ISE, Switzerland  Maura.Brunetti@unige.ch  Y  Y
Calvert Daley  Met Office, UK daley.calvert@metoffice.gov.uk Y Y
 Chanut  Jerome  Mercator, France  jerome.chanut@mercator-ocean.fr  Y  Y
Chegini Fatemeh Dalhousie university, Canada fatemeh.chegini@dal.ca Y Y
Ciliberti Stefania CMCC, Italy stefania.ciliberti@cmcc.it Y Y
Clementi Emanuela INGV, Italy emanuela.clementi@bo.ingv.it Y Y
 DABROWSKI  TOMASZ  MARINE INSTITUTE, Ireland  Tomasz.dabrowski@marine.ie  Y  Y
Debreu Laurent LJK, France Laurent.Debreu@imag.fr Y Y
 DECLERCK  Amandine  MIO, France  declerck@univ-tln.fr  Y  Y
 Delrosso  Damiano  INGV, Italy  damiano.delrosso@bo.ingv.it  Y  Y
Demirov Entcho Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, Canada entcho@mun.ca Y Y
 de Vries  Hylke  KNMI, Netherlands  vries@knmi.nl  Y  Y
 Ducousso  Nicolas  MEOM team, LGGE, Grenoble, France  nicolas.ducousso@legi.grenoble-inp.fr  Y  Y
ELACHQAR Anas Artelia Eau & Environnement, France florence.gandilhon@arteliagroup.com Y Y
Epicoco Italo CMCC & Univ. of Salento, Italy  italo.epicoco@unisalento.it  Y  Y
Flavoni Simona LOCEAN, CNRS, France Simona.Flavoni@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr Y Y
Foujols Marie-Alice IPSL, CNRS, France foujols@ipsl.jussieu.fr Y Y
 Ford  David  Met Offic, UK  david.ford@metoffice.gov.uk  Y  Y
 GANDILHON  Florence  ARTELIA Eau & Environnemen, France  Florence.gandilhon@arteliagroup.com  Y  Y
 Graham  Tim  Met Office, UK  tim.graham@metoffice.gov.uk  Y  Y
 Guihou  Karen  NOC, UK  kariho40@noc.ac.uk  Y  Y
 GUTKNECHT  Elodie  Mercato, France  elodie.gutknecht@mercator-ocean.fr  Y  Y
 Haapala  Jari  Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland  jari.haapala@fmi.fi  Y  Y
 Hirschi  Joel  National Oceanography Centre, UK  jjmh@noc.soton.ac.uk  Y  Y
Hordoir Robinson SHMI, Sweden robinson.hordoir@smhi.se Y Y
Huziy Oleksandr UQAM (University of Quebec in Montreal), Canada guziy.sasha@gmail.com Y Y
Iovino Dorotea CMCC, Italy dorotea.iovino@cmcc.it Y Y
Jouanno Julien LOCEAN, France jjlod@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr Y Y
Kang Hyoun-Woo KIOST-PML Science Office, Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology, UK hwkang@kiost.ac Y Y
 Kjellsson  Joakim  British Antarctic Survey, UK  j.kjellsson@bas.ac.uk  Y  Y
 Le Sommer  Julien  MEOM, CNRS, France lesommer@hmg.inpg.fr  Y  Y
Levasseur Anne ARTELIA Eau & Environnement, France anne.levasseur@arteliagroup.com Y Y
 Levy  Claire  LOCEAN, CNRS, France Claire.Levy@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr  Y  Y
Liu Hedong National Oceanography Centre, UK Hedong.Liu@noc.ac.uk Y Y
Lovato Tomas CMCC, Italy tomas.lovato@cmcc.it Y Y
 Madec  Gurvan  LOCEAN, CNRS, France Gurvan.Madec@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr  Y  Y
Marti Olivier IPSL/LSCE, France olivier.marti@lsce.ipsl.fr Y Y
Massonnet François Université catholique de Louvain (UCL), Louvain-la-neuve, Belgium francois.massonnet@uclouvain.be Y Y
 Mignot  Juliette  IPSL/LOCEAN, France  juliette.mignot@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr  Y  Y
Mocavero Silvia CMCC, Italy silvia.mocavero@cmcc.it  Y  Y
Müller Simon University of Southampton, Southampton, UK s.a.mueller@soton.ac.uk Y Y
Oddo Paolo INGV, Italy paolo.oddo@bo.ingv.it Y Y
 Ourmieres  Yann  MIO, France  yann.ourmieres@univ-tln.fr  Y  Y
Park Wonsun GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany wpark@geomar.de Y Y
 Parn  Ove  Marine Systems Institute at Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia  ove.parn@msi.ttu.ee  Y  Y
 Penduff  Thierry  LGGE, CNRS, France  Thierry.Penduff@legi.grenoble-inp.fr  Y  Y
Peterson Drew Met Office, UK drew.peterson@metoffice.gov.uk Y Y
Rousset Clément LOCEAN, France crlod@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr Y Y
 Shapiro  Georgy  Plymouth University UK  gshapiro@plymouth.ac.uk  Y  Y
Storkey Dave Met Office, UK dave.storkey@metoffice.gov.uk Y Y
Storto Andrea CMCC, Italy andrea.storto@cmcc.it Y Y
 Tedesco  Letizia  Finnish Environment Institute, Finland  letizia.tedesco@environment.fi  Y  Y
 Testut  Charles-Emmanuel  Mercator-océan, France  ctestut@mercator-ocean.fr  Y  Y
Uotila Petteri Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland petteri.uotila@fmi.fi Y Y
 Vervatis  Vassilios  LEGOS/CNRS & Mercator-Ocean, France  vvervatis@mercator-ocean.fr  Y  Y
Vidard Arthur LJK, INRIA, France Arthur.Vidard@imag.fr Y Y
Visinelli Luca CMCC, Italy luca.visinelli@cmcc.it Y Y
Waldman Robin CNRM - Météo France, France robin.waldman@meteo.fr Y Y
Westerlund Antti Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland antti.westerlund@fmi.fi Y Y
While James Met Office, UK james.while@metoffice.gov.uk Y Y
Wobus Fred Plymouth University, UK fred.wobus@plymouth.ac.uk Y Y
Yang Duo Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma), Canada Duo.Yang@ec.gc.ca Y Y