Version 1 (modified by nicolasmartin, 3 years ago) (diff)

2008 Users Meeting

The meeting will be in Paris at Jussieu University (UPMC) : Batiment Esclangon - Amphi Astier.

For 2008, the main areas of interest (both scientific and numerics) will be:

  • Global configurations with focus on eddy permitting configurations
  • Coupled models and Ongoing developments for the next IPCC exercise
  • Sea-ice modelling and the new opportunities opened by LIM3
  • Regional configurations (OBCs, AGRIF & BDY based)

Agenda:

Monday 16 June 1:00 p.m. - 1.30 p.m

  • NEMO team introduction
  • The next release nemo_v3 (G. Madec)

Monday 16 June 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

  • François Roy, Canadian Meteorological Centre - Canada: Initial assessment of the global ¼-deg ice-ocean model: Towards coupled atmosphere-ocean prediction
  • Romain Bourdallé-Badie, Mercator-ocean - France: First steps toward a global ocean forecasting system at 1/12°
  • Giuseppe Grieco CMCC Bologna - Italy: Preliminary results of the implementation of ORCA025 at CMCC
  • Laurent Terray CERFACS - France: IPCC AR5: a few issues and questions to oceanographers
  • David Salas CNRM - Météo-France: Using NEMO/OPA at Météo-France, from seasonal prediction to millennial integrations
  • Claude Frankignoul LOCEAN: Gulf Stream variability in ORCA025
  • Christophe Herbaut LOCEAN: Response of the subpolar gyre to NAO forcing in an Arctic-Atlantic configuration of ORCA05
  • Jerome Chanut Mercator ocean - France: Development of a high resolution operational model over the North East Atlantic

Monday 16 June 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

  • Jeff Polton Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory - UK: Improving the vertical temperature structure of continental shelf models: Light attenuation
  • Paolo Oddo INGV-Italy: Implementing NEMO in the new version of the Mediterranean Forecasting System
  • Enda O'Dea Met Office -UK: Progress in Implementing NEMO as a North West European Shelf Seas model, Tides and non linear free surface forcing
  • Martin Vancoppenolle UCL - Louvain-la-Neuve - Belgium: LIM3, an advanced sea ice model for climate simulation and operational oceanography
  • Sylvain Bouillon UCL - Louvain-la-Neuve - Belgium: The elastic-viscous-plastic rheology on a C grid
  • Christof König Beatty UCL - Louvain-la-Neuve - Belgium: Data Assimilation and more using Ensemble Kalman Filters

Tuesday 17 June 9:15 p.m. - 10:45 a.m.

  • Sebastien Masson LOCEAN - France: Introduction: ongoing developments on coupled interface in NEMO
  • Andrew Lenton LOCEAN - France:: Simulating observed recent Southern Ocean climate change
  • Prince Xavier LMD - France: Intraseasonal variability in coupled models
  • Rym Msadek LOCEAN - France: Atlantic MOC variability in the IPSL model
  • Camille Marini LOCEAN - France: The variability of the Antarctic Circumpolar Current
  • Juliette Mignot LOCEAN - France: local and remote impacts of a tropical Atlantic freshwater anomaly in the IPSL model

Tuesday 17 June 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.

  • Chris Harris Met Office - UK: Development of HadGEM3-AO
  • Andreas Sterl KNMI, Netherlands: Development of EC-Earth and some preliminary results from the first fully coupled run
  • Torben Koenigk SMHI - Sweden: Arctic climate modelling with EC-Earth at SMHI
  • Kristofer Döös, Stockholm University - Sweden: Overturning analysis of the EC-Earth test integrations

Tuesday 17 June 1:15 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

  • Matthieu Lengaigne LOCEAN - Paris - France: Bio-optical feedback in the Arctic region in the IPSLCM4 model
  • Juliette Mignot LOCEAN - France: Some paleo-climatic studies with the IPSL-CM4 model
  • Alessio Bellucci CMCC - Bologna - Italy: Developments of CMCC-INGV coupled model
  • Matthieu Leclair LOCEAN - Paris - France: A conservative Leap-Frog time stepping method
  • Sebastien Masson LOCEAN - France: High resolution coupled models on the Earth Simulator

Participants

Name Institute Email
Bellucci Alessio CMCC - Italy bellucci@…
Benshila Rachid LOCEAN/IPSL - France rblod@…
Bouillon Sylvain UCL - Belgium sylvain.bouillon@…
Chanut Jerome Mercator Ocean - France jchanut@…
Echevin Vincent LOCEAN - France echevin@…
Ethe Christian LSCE/IPSL NEMO team - France Christian.Ethe@…
Claude Frankignoul CF@…
Giuseppe Grieco CMCC - Italy giuseppe.grieco@…
Chris Harris Met Office - UK christopher.harris@…
Christophe Herbaut LOCEAN - France ch@…
Torben Koenigk SMHI - Sweden torben.koenigk@…
Christof König Beatty UCL - Belgium christof.konigbeatty@…
Matthieu Leclair LOCEAN - France matthieu.leclair@…
Matthieu Lengaigne LOCEAN - France lengaign@…
Andrew Lenton LOCEAN - France andrew.lenton@…
Claire Levy LOCEAN - France Claire.Levy@…
Camille Marini LOCEAN - France cmlod@…
Olivier Marti IPSL/LSCE - France olivier.marti@…
Sebastien Masson LOCEAN - France smasson@…
Juliette Mignot LOCEAN - France jmignot@…
Rym Msadek LOCEAN - France rmslod@…
Paolo Oddo INGV Italy oddo@…
Enda O'Dea Met Office - UK enda.odea@…
Anne-Charlotte Peter LOCEAN - France acplod@…
Françoise Pinsard LOCEAN - France Francoise.Pinsard@…
Jeff Polton POL - UK j.polton@…
Andrew Porter STFC - UK a.r.porter@…
François Roy Canadian Meteorological Centre - Canada francois.roy@…
David Salas METEO-FRANCE / CNRM-GAME - France david.salas@…
Andreas Sterl KNMI - Netherlands sterl@…
Alessandro Tagliabue LSCE - France alessandro.tagliabue@…
Claude Talandier LOCEAN - France Claude.Talandier@…
Laurent Terray CERFACS France terray@…
Martin Vancoppenolle UCL - Belgium vancop@…
Prince Xavier LMD/ENS - France xavier@…